North Carolina (or Norf Carolina if you’ve seen highly underrated “The Woods”) is dear to a few of us at ATLRx; it doesn’t change the fact that I can’t get Petey Pablo out of my head when I think of it. The state has a cannabis-friendly environment, not quite as much as Atlanta—but the state is home to many fantastic brands that produce quality products. North Carolina is much like Georgia regarding the state’s legality. North Carolina went about following the federal farm bill to pass the Senate Bill 352 (10-28) that scratched out hemp-derived tetrahydrocannabinol (d8 and d10) products in the Controlled Substances Act. The same laws apply, of course, nothing over the legal 0.3% THC limit. And another beautiful thing about this state is that they’re not too worried about anyone attempting to take delta-8 away; there haven’t been any legal battles sent their way.
The DEA has voiced its distaste for anything “synthetically derived.”
Technically, Delta-8 is considered to be synthetic—this is something that we’ve all been keeping an eye on. Why, you may ask? Because they have the capability to do what they want to. If they want it to be illegal—they can do so. This, however, is doubtful. We’ve been on the alternate cannabinoid ride for over three years now; they would’ve already made their move. The DEA has known about synthetic derivatives for quite some time. However, they haven’t seen them as an immediate threat to society. There isn’t a kingpin of Delta-8 THC who only walks on velvet carpeting. We are all just trying to get stoned.
While hemp-derived cannabinoids are legal in North Carolina, the state’s laws regarding marijuana use differ from those in other states, so residents of North Carolina will be faced with legal issues when using marijuana in their state. Fortunately, delta-8 is legal. North Carolina’s progress on medical marijuana has been moving at a sloth’s pace. Marijuana isn’t even decriminalized. Yes, that is correct. At this time, South Carolina is considered more progressive when it comes to THC. Shocking.
Less than 14 grams is a misdemeanor with a $200 fine. If caught with almost an ounce and a half, you’re looking at 45 days in jail and a $1000 fine. Anything more than that, it’s a felony—you’re looking at 8 months in prison with a $1000 fine. But they’re working to make their first moves towards progression with “The Compassionate Care Act” or Senate Bill 711. This bill ultimately reassures that medical patients or doctors face the possibility of persecution if they’re to use or prescribe medical marijuana.
The following steps aren’t exactly clear for the state. Federal agencies are being told to hurry up and make up their minds. Other states don’t want Delta-8 to be legalized because they don’t want a competing industry; they know people enjoy it. The Southeast is in dire need of legalization if it does get to that point; this market is an answer to government officials. It’s demystifying and also shows the lucrative advantages.